IAMBE Flashes

Iambe was the Greek Goddess of laughter and poetry, daughter of Pan and Echo.

One day, whilst working close to the city of Athens, Iambe met Demeter, goddess of harvest and agriculture. Demeter had come down from the heavens,  consumed with grief for the loss of her daughter, Persephone.  She was not eating,  drinking, talking or smiling and this was also depleting and destroying the surrounding lands.  In one account,  Iambe in an act of sisterhood, connects and communicates with Demeter’s heart by flashing her vagina and telling jokes, which shocks her and also makes her laugh and transforms her state of grief! Demeter begins to eat, drink and smile again which restores balance and harmony to the lands and people around.

So why am I writing about this peculiar story? In 2017 I’m launching a ‘Communication and Connection model for kids, families, business, schools… well everyone. This week I was searching for a word to  encompass their whole.  At one point I even looked up to the sky and requested one, 3 days later IAMBE landed :

Sipping tea and waiting for a grieving friend in a coffee shop called Benugo at Waterloo station, I considered this name. Was it a play on words – Be nu go? I’d been discussing with my business partner his behaviour model and wondered if this could be poetically arranged too.  We’d also been reciting a mantra linked to his model –

‘I am who I say I am
Because what I say I am
That is who I am’ Ⓒ

So in the spaces, I questioned who ‘I am being’ and played with these words and created IAMBE. Upon Googling it I found out she was the goddess who communicates and connects through laughter and play. This is exactly what we do in our business collaboration: Random Dialogues.

What a great way to BE.

‘I am who I say I am
Because what I say I am
That is who I am’ Ⓒ

NB

‘Iambic’ verse also stems from Iambe’s name and her jokes and playful nature and was often used by Shakespeare in his plays and sonnets, an example being ‘To Be or not to Be’.

‘I Am that I Am’ the common English translation of the response God used in the Hebrew Bible when Moses asked for his name (Exodus 3:14).

 Come and Play

Image via https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baubo
Please support Wikipedia  click here

One thought on “IAMBE Flashes

  1. Pingback: Hishy, Hashy, Hoshy | Jane Tyson

Leave a Reply

