Compass Not Included

This week, my husband was away on a news story so the children and I went up to Cumbria to spend time with cousins and ourselves.

My son was keen to walk up to Scafell Pike – England’s highest mountain situated in the Lake District.  This time last year the weather, will and a new pair of blistery shoes defeated and disappointed him.  His previous ‘failure’ gave him more determination and belief to do it this time and  we went up with a lovely group and an excellent guide called Arnold from  the ‘LakeDistrictWalker’.

On this occasion he made it and walked with energy, ease and excitement and enjoyed everything, he was just a delight to be with and I felt so proud of him.

owl 5

Luke & I on top of Scafell Pike, just in time for the rain

The next part of our adventure took the children and I to the DerwentWater Independent Hostel. 

owl 11

DerwentWater Independent Youth Hostel

owl 8

Always lots to do at a Hostel for children, we’ve taken them to different ones since they were babies in the UK and abroad.

owl 7

Room from the top bunks – Waterfall

We also went to the market in Keswick where Luke brought me a Flannel/Towel Owl to say thank you for taking him up Scafell Pike. I was really touched and we had a lot of fun playing around with names for him and settled on –

‘Flanowl Towl’

owl

Gratefowl

I slept with Flanowl on the top bunk,  listening to the waterfall and the children snoring.

Luke’s next goals are to climb Snowden and Ben Nevis and our joint goal is to learn to map read properly together. This is something my husband used to teach when he was in the army so we are in good hands.  I have been on a course before in Wales but need to skill up again properly and keep practising.  Whilst we could walk competently, once the rain and cloud came down I wouldn’t have felt confident in my skills to take the right turns and actually they went left too.

 

owl 4
If you would like to find out more about staying on the right path with your family, setting family goals and creating a shared vision and mission statement, then come  along to my next workshop in Guildford, Surrey. I will also be sharing how to create mindful special time, using effective praise and commands, limiting our own voice,  connection before correction and more.
Compass not included.
JT x
Leave a Reply

